2013 Alumni Conference

2013 Local Government Alumni Society Annual Conference

Western's Local Government Program Alumni Society is pleased to announce our 2013 Annual Conference. This year’s theme is The Creative Spark - Public Service Innovation. Our keynote speaker will be TTC Chair and Toronto City Councillor, Karen Stintz, BA’92, Dip’93.

Date: Friday, November 8, 2013
Time: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m
Location: Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre,
591 Wellington Rd, London, ON (map)

Thursday Night!

Cocktails & Conversations, a networking reception taking place on the Thursday evening prior to the conference. The keynote speaker for Cocktails and Conversation was be Jeff Fielding, CAO of the City of Burlington and recipient of the Local Government Alumni Society first annual Award of Excellence.

We also welcome you to join your fellow classmates and graduates at Cocktails and Conversation, a networking reception on the Thursday evening prior to the conference, complete with refreshments and hors d’oeuvres. More details coming soon.


8:00 a.m.

Registration & hot buffet breakfast

8:45 a.m.

Opening Remarks

9:00 a.m.

Gord Hume: Trends for Creative Communities

9:45 a.m.

Kate Graham: Local Government: Closer to the People

10:15 a.m.

Coffee Break

10:30 a.m.

Keynote Speaker: Karen Stintz, TTC

11:30 a.m.

Susanna Hubbard and Josh Morgan, Creative Engagement & Library Spaces, London Public Library

12:00 p.m.

Networking Lunch

1:00 p.m.

AGM and Award Presentation - AGM Agenda

1:30 p.m.

Innovation at Work: Speakers Panel Dan Mathieson, getting creative with data infrastructure in Stratford Kristina Verner, Intelligent Communities for Waterfront Toronto and Bill Mann, Town of Milton with Municipal Innovation at its best: Financing Major Projects through Public/Private Partnerships.

3:00 p.m.

Dr. Martin Horak’s Local Government Program Update

3:10 p.m.

Dr. Andrew Sancton’s Recommended Reading List

3:20 p.m.

Wrap Up: Susan Gardner, Municipal World

3:30 p.m.

Closing Remarks


Contact Information

For further information on the 2013 conference please contact:

  • John Hannam
    2013 Alumni Conference Organizing Committee
  • Michelle Smibert
    2013 Alumni Conference Organizing Committee